Educated at St. Peter's College, Radley from 1887 to 1890

Commissioned 1st October 1893 Highland Light Infantry

Lieutenant 7th May 1896

Appointed Indian army 3rd October 1897 and the 19th Bengal Lancers

Captain 21st October 1902

Specially nominated to Quetta Staff College in 1910

Major 21st October 1911

Graduated from the Staff College, Quetta in May 1912

On leave, out of India with a medical certificate for twenty months from 19th April 1913

Died 10th February 1915 West Runton, Norfolk (or London?)

Not on the CWGC, but I think he should.

He was carried on the active list (still listed with the 19th Lancers in the January 1915 Indian Army List thus), although he was at home on a medical certificate when war broke out and alas looks to have died from what ever forced him on a medical certifiicate. His death is recorded in the Monthly Army List.

How do I get hold of his Death Certificate? I have never done this before.

With him being away from his regiment when war broke out I suspect he was forgotten about and died in obscurity and was missed off by clerks dealing with the flow of deaths from France.

Matthew

try writing a letter to the india and oriental collection courtesy the british libary in london as they may have something on him.

Died 10th February 1915 West Runton, Norfolk (or London?)

Matthew.

Just confirming it was Norfolk (from his death notice in The Times). No additional details.

regards,

Martin

Sue,

Many thanks - I have ordered the Death Certificate so we will just have to see.

How did you know all this?

Regards,

Matthew

Folks

I will now knock him off my list as one of those for me to research - thanks very much - looks like another one in from the cold

Chris

Chris,

I had a friend if mine have a look in West Runton Churchyard for me (he was over that way bird watching) but did not find him - do you know where he is commemorated? What list of yours did he appear on for you to want to check him out?

Cheers,

Matthew

Matthew