Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Info Required

Guest Whistlerdave

Guest Whistlerdave

My Uncle has just dies and served in Burma at Imphal, Kohema etc. On clearing his flat no medals were found and the fact he never spoke of his time in the far east we presume he nevr collected any. Is it too late now? or can I be given any idea of what he would have received?

Many THanks to whoever answers

Hi there,

I have been collecting and had a keen interest in Medals for about 4/5 years and after reading ur message i'll try to help you with my limited knowledge... I think he would have been entitled to at least 4 medals... the 1939-45 star, the Burma Star, the Defence medal, the 1939-45 war medal. This is only from wot u have told me, if he served in another theatre of war other then Burma he could be entitled to more campaign stars! Ive found a picture on a speedbid which is a website that sells medals. The picture is how your Great Uncle would have worn them, they are mounted as worn. And your over question have a look at this

website for information about claiming medals

http://www.veteransagency.mod.uk/medals/cmpaign.htm

hope this helps

Tom

post-23-1076956646.jpg

A friend of mine has just got his late Granddad's medals - the same ones pictured and described here, oddly enough. He went through the Army Medal Office which still deals with WWII claims (but recently stopped dealing with WWI ones I believe).

You may need to research a bit before you apply. They need a lot of info apparently, and won't do it for you.

The absolute minimum for service in Burma would be two medals - the Burma Star and the War Medal. This would be in the case of someone arriving in the theatre of war within the last six months of the conflict (ie. before 2nd September 1945). More than six months in a war zone would entitle the serviceman to at least one more medal.

Credit to you that you're taking an interest in what your Uncle did!