Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

L/Cpl George Foster

Peter Bennett

I am helping a friend trace his Grandfather's birth certificate. SDGW states George Foster was born in Liverpool, enlisted Dewsbury. He was married at Dewsbury Register Office and his marriage certificate for June 1913 shows him to be a widower aged 35. His father, also George Foster (deceased) was a brickmaker by trade.

My friend has applied to Liverpool Register Office but without the correct quarter and registration district they have been unable to locate his birth details.

Can anyone please help or advise.

Thank you

Peter

Name: FOSTER, GEORGE

Initials: G

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment/Service: King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

Unit Text: 6th Bn.

Date of Death: 15/09/1916

Service No: 14916

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: Pier and Face 11 C and 12 A.

Memorial: THIEPVAL MEMORIAL

Peter

I’m sometimes a little suspicious about the place of birth as recorded by SDGW. Do you have any other evidence to back up his birth as being in Liverpool?

From his wedding certificate , we know his age at marriage (suggesting he was born in 1877 or 1878), his father was George (deceased), a bricklayer. And he was married in Dewsbury.

Looking at the 1881 census, the nearest to his date of birth, there is a George Foster, a 27 year old Bricklayer, married to Ann (25) and living at Haven (Haver?) Lane in Peasholme, York. He has a son, George aged 3, but both are shown as being born in York.

So we have the same age, same father’s name, same occupation, living in Yorkshire, but different place of birth.

Even if we take this as being “your” man, there are over 40 births registered in Yorkshire during 1877/1878 for George Foster. Some of them could perhaps be excluded due to being quite a distance from York, there are also quite a few with a middle name – did “your” George have a middle name?