The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

HAG 12 & 3

Liz M

Hi

I am trying to piece together the history of an ancestor of mine, James Edward Baskott. His Army form B103 states that although he enlisted on the 26.8.1914 he did not go to France until 31.5.1915. The 'remarks' column states 'Nom Roll of 12 (new) HB RGA'. Does this make sense to anyone, I'm sure it will - but I'm very ignorant of these things......

James is then transferred to the 3HAG for 'wireless instruction', this was 'in the field' he then appears to go back to the 12 Hy bty,

Any help with strange terms much appreciated.

Thanks

Liz

'Nom Roll of 12 (new) HB RGA' = Nominal Roll of 12 (new) Heavy Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

3HAG = 3 Heavy Artillery Group (a Royal Garrison Artillery formation).

12 Hy Bty is of course 12 Heavy Battery again.

Hope that helps (even a little bit).

Phil

I'm by no means an expert in the Royal Garrison Artillery (RGA), but 12 HB simply means 12th Heavy Battery.

If you look at the parent site (Long Long Trail (link at top left)), you'll find a link to the formations of the Army, and it shows 12 HB as being part of 99 Brigade, RGA, which was in turn part of the 2nd Army.

I'm sure someone with RGA expertise on here will be able to tell you more!

Thank you - things are a bit clearer :huh:

I don't understand the 'nominal roll' bit..... I am blonde......

and does it mean the 12 Heavy Group are 'new' as in part of the 'new army'. The new army would make sense because James enlisted in August 1914 - for three years, or are they just new guns? Doh - many apologies to those whose eyebrows are raised!

Liz

A nominal roll is simply a list of who is serving with a particular unit. A bit like the register at school. It means that he is serving with them as his permanent unit, even though he may be seconded elsewhere for periods (such as on his course of wireless instruction).