Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Belgian soldier from Kortrijk

Guest Firestone

Guest Firestone

I'm researching a Belgian soldier who died in 1914. From the database at www.inflandersfields.be, I know that his rank was "Soldaat 2 kl mil 1913 klaroen" and his regiment was "1 Karabiniers 3/2".

I am completely new to this subject, and language, and I wonder if anyone can kindly explain what this means ...

Secondly, is it possible to obtain copies of a Belgian soldier's service records?

If anyone can point me to other useful resources or possible sources of information, I'd also be very grateful.

With many thanks,

Harry

Is it Joseph Benoodt who you are researching by any chance?

Born 13/11/1893 (class of 1913) in Kortrijk.

he was a Private (Soldaat) in the 1e Karabiniers (medium cavalry - similar to the dragoons) and had the Army number 131/

He died (of wounds) on 7/12/1914 and is buried at Stouchan(????)

Dave

Harry, I have the regimental history for the Karabiniers. Will do a lookup for you when I get back from this trip, in about 2 weeks.

Robert

Ask this guy:

Patrick Dewolf on ABL1914@pandora.be

What he doesn't know about Belgian casualties and the Belgian army didn't happen.

He can take some time to reply, so be patient.

There is also a website about the Belgian army pre and during WW1 , but sorry, I don't have the URL.

Guest Firestone

Thank you all for your help.

Dave - yes, it most certainly is JB, and thank you for these details.

Robert - thank you, that will be excellent.

Healdav - I'm emailing Patrick Dewolf today ...

Firestone,

Joseph Alberic Benoodt

+ 7 Dec 1914

Original place of burial : Southampton (GB), Grave 186 / E 115, 11 Dec 1914.

(No mention of where he was reburied later. Back to his town (Kortrijk / Courtrai) requested by next of kin ?)

Aurel