The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Serial Numbers, RE & RFA

Garron

Hey Pals

These are the serial numbers for Richard E Webber, He would be my Great Great Uncle.

Royal Engineers 257665 Sapper

Royal Field Artillery 25373 Sapper

Royal Engineers WR269794 Sapper

I know that the WR prefix is for Waterways & Railways, which would make sence as he was a railway man by trade.

Do the numbers give any information such as transfer dates or an approx enlistment date?

Thanks

Gaz

Looking at this,

Were there sappers in the RFA? I thought that was a RE rank

Gaz

That problem often happens where a Star isn't qualified for. Only one Rank is required on the BWM/VM - the highest/last - hence Sapper rather than Private/Gunner/etc. is the only one needed on the MIC. That probably means the R.E. service was last. I assume the medals were issued from the R.E. Rolls?

The R.E. number 257665 is probably circa 1917 (possibly mid-ish?, but it's difficult to draw solid conclusions). The WR/269794 number is a 1918 number when the Railways and Waterways departments were split off from the main R.E. and new numbers issued. The WR/200000 numbers are consistent with Railways numbers, rather than Waterways.

A man with similar numbers - Henry Thomas Francis Barnes (Ex 17th & 16th Rifle Brigade (suffered shrapnel wounds to both legs on 3-9-1916), R.E. 257619, WR/269759, transferred to the R.E. 2-3-1917 and was posted to the Railway Operating Department. He was posted to 23rd Light Railway Miscellaneous Trades Coy, and went to France on 10-3-1917. He did not move companies thereafter and was transferred to Class Z on 21-5-1919. He was a "van guard" prior to enlisting. He lived at Caledonian Road, and joined the Army at St Pancras. I suspect the van guard trade was associated with the railways rather than the roads... {WO363}