Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

William Reid

benakaim

I have some sketchy knowledge of my grandfather from well-worn hand-me-down stories. He was William Reid enlisted in 1914. He was from Glasgow. He was wounded in France, whilst at the same time all his mates were killed in an explosion. His brother Arthur was wounded at 16- shot through the cheek.

Once recovered my grandfather enlisted in the RFC. Almost blind without his specs, he memorized the site test and was allowed to join. He told me -an awestruck youngster - that he flew a Sopwith Camel.

Through this site I have found a Lance-Corporal W.Reid (no. 23157) in along list of people mentioned in despatches for The Royal Engineers. Not sure why or when. This could be him.

I would love to learn a little more about where he may have been stationed and what he might have been involved in. Not sure where to go next. Any ideas anyone?

After the war he became a rubber planter in Malaya, and had the misfortune to be imprisoned in Changi gaol for the duration of the second world war. After the war, the Communist emergency in Malaya proved too much and he retired to Edinburgh with his wife Ella.

Bearing in mind the story, could this be him?

Medal card of Reid, William

Corps Regiment No Rank

Royal Highlanders S/8606 Private

Royal Flying Corps 136920 Private

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...p;resultcount=3

Steve.

Thanks, Steve. This is amazing! Do you know if it's possible to go deeper with this information or is this as far as it goes?

The card itself has a few acronyms and numbers on it, but its pretty hard to follow and it looks as if it might refer to another ledger of some kind.

Thanks again for your swift detective work!

Stephen

Stephen, if you post the MIC on the forum it may hold a few more clues to your grandfathers service,

cheers, Jon

ps file size needs to be belw 100kb