Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Covenants with Death

K.Baker

Hi im new to all this so i hope im posting in the correct place. i just started looking into my G.Grandads role in the war and ive been lent a very old and fragile book called COVENANTS WITH DEATH, Daily Express Publications, London 1934. Edited by T.A.Innes & Ivor Castle.

"The purpose of this book is to reveal the horror, suffering and essential bestiality of modern war, and with that revelation, to warn the nation against the peril of foreign entanglements that must lead Briton to a new Armageddon - All the pictures are taken from authentic photographs."

Its a black hard back about A-4 size and on the cover is a red skull and skeletal hand holding a scroll, and below the title in red. It has about 150-ish pages of photographs from the final days of peace through to the end of the war, including shots of civilians and military on all sides. Also included are many photos of individuals and groups in "Live" battles, before-after scenes, POWs, military aide stations and the inevitable results, death, as well as the cameradery and apparent friendlyness of both the Brits and the Germans towards each other as individuals (Photos of Brits & Germans together smiling and helping each other). Many of the photos are a full page in size, and some spread across two pages and all are very clear in details. Apart from the initial quote (Above) and a map page with figures of dead & wounded on Western Front locations (as of 1936?), there is little text information though, mainly just a few words or a location along with each picture, but the photo story speaks volumes.

The owner of the book told me its very rare and exagerated greatly that i was to take good care of it, as its in a Very fragile state.