Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

16th Battalion Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own)

JMRJNR

I am new to this but would hope to find information on the 16th Battalion Rifle Brigade's role at the battle of Aubers Ridge in May 1915. My uncle Rifleman Thomas Geddes Ritchie enlisted with the Prince Consort's Own in London at the outbreak of war. He was from Langholm, Dumfriesshire, and his number was Z/2960. He died in hospital in Darlington in September, 1917, after being wounded at Ypres the previous month. I have recently discovered a long and quite remarkable letter he wrote to his father from the trenches, describing the action and his part in it. There is no date and no place (censorship presumably) but from what I can gather he must have been writing just after the battle of Aubers Ridge in May, 1915, because he talks of the death in action of Brigadier General Lowry Cole who died in that battle. He also describes going into battle on a sunny Sunday - which ties with records of the event and his account of losses are confirmed by the official records.

I know that the 2nd Battalion of the Rifle Brigade took part in that action - one of the worst slaughters of WW1 - but I can find no mention of the 16th Batallion. Can anyone guide me on this and would any families of survivors know anything more about Tom Ritchie's part in it?

Thanks in anticipation.

The 16th Battalion were not in France in 1915; they were still in training. If he served at Aubers in May 1915 it must have been with another battalion.

According to his medal rolls he served in the 2nd, 9th & 16th Rifle Brigade. His 1914-15 Star Roll states overseas on the 16/3/15 and Died of Wounds on 26/9/17.

The 9th RB (14th Div) were also still in the UK training, so your uncle would have been at Aubers Ridge (Rouges Bancs) with the 2nd RB and given the date of his arrival in France would have been a reinforcement immediately after the Battle of Neuve Chapelle.