Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

My battlefield story

MoonMonkey

Hi

Newbie here, my name is Steve and I am 34 years old, and I am a WW1 buff......this sounds like an AA meeting! (not that I would know!)

I don't claim to be an expert, just have a keen amatuer interest. Anyway....been on lost of visits to sites in France and Belgium, but though I would share a interesting story from my first WW1 tour.

We did all the usual places on the Somme, Vimy Ridge, Beamont Hamel, Theipval, Notre Dame de Lorette, etc, etc. One interesting aside was that I met Professor Richard Holmes at Thiepval taking a group of Canadians round, and got him to sigh a book! Anyway....

We decided to find somewhere a bit more off the beaten track. My wife picked out a place from the Holts' book. it was a memorial to a Welsh unit. We drove for miles down country lanes, and then down farm tracks, and the track eneded in a field. There was a statue of a red welsh dragon overlooking the field, with a memorial on it. A bit further on was a walled cemetery for the unit.

Next to this cemetery was a large field that had just been ploughed. We decided to walk the furrows to see what we could see. I didn't expect to find anything, but went along wth it anyway. Between four of us we found, just lying on the surface...

A rusty bayonet tip

Parts of a rifle lock/stock

several mills bombs fragents (some of which were almost complete bombs) and shrapnel (the balls inside)

bullet cases

an unfired bullet

a gass mask eye piece

several buttons

glass bottle fragments, some with embossed writing on

something that looked uncomfortably like part of a human pelvis.

lots of barbed wire parts and supports

Most of these thing were found at the ends of the furrows where the tractor turns. Amazing that so much was lying on the surface, must be so much down there.