Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

William Rees, York & Lanc Regiment - which Battalion?

Helen O

Hi to everyone,

I am quite new to this and wondered if anyone could help me with my research.

I would like to know the Battalion which my great grandfather served with, so I can find out a little more about his military background.

He was born in Sheffield in 1875 and in 1901 he was resident at The Barracks in Pontefract, Y&LR.

It has been suggested to me that he may have been a pre-war Terretorial Force, and that he may have been with the 1/5th TF Battalion. A fellow researcher has kindly looked on Soldiers Died and found a Sgt Bellamy number 1101 KIA Sept 1915

who was 5th(TF) Batt, so this may suggest another link to the 5th. He also tells me that the Y+L TF provided volunteers for South Africa in 01/02 indicating it might be possible he was at Pontefract getting ready or returning from theatre??

I believe he was discharged under (paragraph) 392, (cause) xxi (of Kings Regulations), which I understand is termination of his period of engagement, but I don't know when he enlisted.

Would anyone know when was No. 1105 allocated?

Incidentally, I can find no record of William's death, but believe from my grandparents' marriage certificate that he was living in 1930.

Thanks to all for taking the time to read this and I'll keep my fingers crossed for a reply!!

Sorry I've just realised I'm not able to upload the medal card. But what it tells me is that William's Regimental No. was 1105 and that he was discharged on 31 March 1917 and awarded the SWB (Silver War Badge) and he entered France on 13th April 1915.

That date could make him 1/4 th, 1/5th, 7th... quite a few so not much help sorry

to upload the card you need it less than 100 kb