Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Birmingham War Memorials

t1418w

Hi

I am new to this foroum. I have for some years been compiling a data base of war memorials in & around Birmingham. I now have information on about 6500 men from Birmingham. In addition, I have the names, rank & regiment of some12500 men & woman from Birmingham who died in the Great War. Please contact me if you need any information.

Tony

Tony, welcome to the Forum. As someone whose entire family on both sides was from Birmingham, I am really pleased to hear of your work. So let me begin with this one:

Private 13261 Albert Baker, 7th South Staffordshire Regiment. A Gallipoli veteran, he was killed in action at the age of 19 in the Battle of Messines Ridge on 7 June 1917. Lived at 31 Burlington Street in Aston. My grandfather's cousin.

Hi Tony

This seems a very interesting project, Tony. I have all Royal Warwicks who were killed in the Great War in my database and am currently entering nearly 3000 who are listed in the Birmingham Roll of Honour, 1925. I also have over 300 on the Bham Roll who cannot be identified from CWGC and SDGW. Can you identify other Royal Warwicks from other memorials apart from the ones I know about like the various Corporation Departments. I am more than happy to do some data swapping. I am in Access but can export any data into Excel.

Hi Tony

Welcome to Great War Forum. As you can see Chris does an excellent job running this Forum. Unlike my poor effort in trying to keep the Pals Forum free of spam etc.

Keep in touch Tony.

Terry

Tony, welcome to the Forum. As someone whose entire family on both sides was from Birmingham, I am really pleased to hear of your work. So let me begin with this one: