Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

After a bit more advice

harps

Hi all, I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.

I'm looking into Gunner Owen Roberts. His medal card tells me he was in the RFA and gives two Regimental No's - TF701647 & 161282.

It gives a Medal Roll number of RFA/2418 page 34311 (must be a big book!).

How can I find out what part of the RFA he served in? I take it that will be the best way to find where he served during the war?

Many thanks

Ross

Re-posted as the internet seemed to wobble when I tried the first time!

Jon,

No mention of date at all from what I can remember. I'll double check tonight, but I'm 99% sure there wasn't. He was entitled to the British War and Victory medals, so is it safe to assume he didn't go to a Theatre until 1916?

Is it normal for a RFA man not to have details on his medal card of where in the RFA he served?

Cheers

Ross

Hello Ross,

I'm no expert but I think Gunner Owen Roberts first Regimental No TF701647 is from the batch allocated to the 1st East Lancashire Brigade, Royal Field Artillery. They were based in the Blackburn/Burnley area with the 4th Battery at Blackburn, 5th Battery at Church, 6th Battery at Burnley and the Ammunition Column at Blackburn. The East Lancs Brigade were part of the 42nd Division (see The Long Long Trail). Can't help with the second number 161282, but this indicates a transfer at some time. The Medal Roll number RFA/2418 page 34311 could show the Battery(s) he served with. Hope this helps.

Regards

Ron

Interesting - thankyou very much for the info.

I know he was from Anglesey, and I'd assume he would join up locally. With the RFA, would you go to a local Artillery Regiment (battery?) like with the Infantry? I guess a 'local' regiment may be some way off as there would be less regiments to join than Infantry?

Cheers,

Ross

Hello Ross,