The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Am I wasting my time ?

Jennyemmett

Hello all,

I am a complete newby to military research so please excuse anything obvious that I've overlooked. I'm trying to find details of my grandfather, Alexander Middleton who according to family legend, was killed in France sometime during WW1.

My father, born Dec 1914, joined the Army Apprentice College at Chepstow in 1928, discovering only than that he was adopted. Throughout his life, he had no interest in finding out about his real parents, and all we have is his birth certificate, listing his father (Alexander) as being a private in the RAMC (joiner)with a Lambeth address.

I've looked at www.ramc-ww1.com and the CWGC site, but have no idea what regiment he would have been with. Also, perhaps his rank changed since 1914. Is this exercise completely futile ? It's just that now I live in France, I would have liked to have visited his grave.

Thanks.

Searched the Medal Index Cards at The National Archives Documents Online site, the CWGC site, and Soldiers Died in the Great War - there are a fairly small number of Alexander Middletons, but nothing to pin them to Lambeth, and no RAMC men either. I wouldn't give up quite yet. I would gather together all the Alexander Middletons, and go through them trying to eliminate them. You might also try the death registers - its possible he was killed but escaped the adminstrative processes for both CWGC and SDGW.

Jenny

Welcome to the Board.

You could only say that you are wasting your time if you haven't met the detectives here. :P

regards

Mel

There are several A. Middletons with R.A.M.C. connections. One ends up in the R.A.F. http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...mp;mediaarray=*

And, of course, he might have switched units before reaching France, so that R.A.M.C. doesn't appear on his MIC. My guess is that A.S.C. is a possibility.

I have done the same as Greenwoodman with no results.