Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Query re McCullen Q.R.W.S

Dave_oram

I am still a newbie to the Great War research and I have a few queries from the Protection certificate and certificate of Identity for SJT G.D McCullen.

George Drake McCullen was born in 1892, he served in the Queens Reg with the No T=2311. On his WW1 medals it is inscribed as

T=2311 PTE G.D McCullen of the Queens R on his 1914 - 15 Star

2311 SJT G.D McCullen of the Queens R on his B.W.M & Victory medals.

On his Protection and Identity certificate it states the following which is confusing me :wacko:

George Drake McCullen, 5th Unit, Regtl No 240573, Rank SGT, Regiment Q,R,W,S.

Can anyone help and inform me why there are 3 different Nos (maybe T= Territorial) for George, does it mean that he moved Regiments or was it because he became a SJT?

Was Q.R.W.S part of the Queens Regt ?

What does M.E.F mean as a theatre of war?

Sorry if you are now confused :rolleyes:

Any help appriciated.

Dave

Dave

QWRS = Queens Royal West Surreys ,the full title for The Queens !

MEF = Middle East Forces.if you take the reference to the 5th unit in your posting to be the 1/5th Battalion it was in Mespot from 1915 onwards,viz MEF.

Soldier's number,I believe it would have changed from a Territorial 4 digit to the 6 digit re-numbering around 1917,it apparently happened in a few regiments,if not all.

Best wishes

Sotonmate

Thank you for that information Sotonmate, I am most greatful to you.

I can now get to work and see what I can find out about my McCullen's service.

Cheers

Dave

• 2 years later...
I am still a newbie to the Great War research and I have a few queries from the Protection certificate and certificate of Identity for SJT G.D McCullen.

George Drake McCullen was born in 1892, he served in the Queens Reg with the No T=2311. On his WW1 medals it is inscribed as

T=2311 PTE G.D McCullen of the Queens R on his 1914 - 15 Star