Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Can any one Help?

privatewickham

Hi,

Im new to all of this so apologies if I have done anything wrong!

I recently started researching my family history and discovered a number of relatives who sadly perished in the Great War, and was wandering if anyone can maybe help me in answering a few questions that I have? I have found out as much information as possible about them using the internet and have read your long long trail section and looked at their regimental information. I have also looked for some War Diaries for their battalions at the national archivesd but alas to no avail.

The person that interests me the most is my great grandfather, Private Frank Wickham. I already know a lot about him thanks to the good work of the Dover War memorial project, however am curious to the circumstances surrounding his death:-

"Frank Wickham, 200279, enlisted in Dover, and was in the 1st/6th battalion (Territorial) of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment (formerly 2746 of The Buffs)He died of wounds in Havre hospital on 13 October 1917, when he was 40 (another report gives an age of 36). He now lies at Sainte Marie cemetery, Le Havre. The words at the bottom of his headstone read, "At Rest". "

The others I am curious about are Frank's brother and Nephew:-

"William Ernest Wickham, G/13557, was a Serjeant in the Buffs. He was in the 6th battalion and had gained the Territorial Force Efficiency Medal. He was 41 (46?) when he was reported missing on 3rd May 1917. He is commemorated on the Arras Memorial. "

&

Charles Edward Wickham, 68089, was a Private in the 7th battalion of the Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) (formerly 6858 2/5th Queen's Royal West Surrey Regiment). He enlisted and lived in Paddington. He was 29 when he died on 30th December 1917, and is commemorated on the Thiepval memorial.

As you can see, all were killed within 7 months of each other.