The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

1/4 welsh regiment

allisonrees

I am a novice at this so I need all the help I can get. I have been trying to find out more about my grandfather a Pte Mansel Lewis who served with 1/4 Welsh Regiment in Galipolli, he landed there in august 1915 not sure where else. At some stage he was wounded and posted into the labour corps not sure of this date. I have found his medal card however cannot seem to get any further. Any help or dirrection would be most grateful.

Allison

:rolleyes:

Hi Allison, welcome to the forum :D

The 1/4th Welsh (TF) formed in Carmarthen and became part of 159th Brigade 53rd (Welsh) Division which was a territorial force division already in existence at the outbreak of war. The division served in Egypt, Gallipoli and Palestine where they remained until the armistice.

I live in Pembrokeshire where the 1/4th recruted many loacal lads and spent some time training prior to their overseas posting. I have some personal diary extracts and photos from a local soldier who served and was wouned with the battalion at Suvla Bay. There is also a small collection of local newspaper pictures of the 1/4th in St. Davids, Happy to help if I can,

cheers, Jon

Many thanks ger & jon for your replies. He was born in 1895 in Llanelli, Carmarthern no othr names just Mansel lewis. Anything you might think relevant Jon I would be most gratefull. I also know his brother in law a William Griffiths was killed in WW 1, don't know much about him only that he was livving in Llanelli in 1901 census and the family originally came from Haverfordwest.

Once agian thank you for your help

Allison

Hi Allison, let me have your email address and in return I'll send you a few bits and pieces. I'm just outside Haverfordwest and have just discovered the records office.

There is a Gunner William James Griffiths RFA listed on the Llanelli War Memorial, he is shown on SDGW as being born and enlisted in Llanelli KiA 14/06/17,

cheers, Jon