Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

help with unit ID

kaisersozay

Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone can help me to identify the unit this American soldier belonged to. All I know is that the photo was taken during WW1 and in Italy. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

tn2.jpg

the only clue is his collar tab and I don't know what the insignia is.

Hello 'Kaisersozay'...

I'm no expert on American military insignia, but I do know that the symble for the US Engineers is the two towered castle. I've enlarged the coller dog to as far as my syatem will allow, and it does look to be that very insignia.

A forum member more knowledgeable on the US militaria will be able to verify more accuratly my assumption.

Seph

Hello 'Kaisersozay'...

I'm not an expert either but I believe that the 332nd Infantry Regiment, (83rd Division) with supporting medical and supply units, was sent to the Italian front in July 1918. I have yet to discover who the suppporting units were - if this could be determined it might help

It looks to me like the number 310 is on the collar disc.

Any chance of a close up/higher res on the collar disc?

Chris

If it is 310 Engineers (a castle symbol) then here is the info on them they were part of:

Eighty-fifth, 85th Division (Michigan and Wisconsin) (National Army)

Trained at Camp Custer in Battle Creek, Mich.

Nickname: Custer Division

337th, 338th, 339th, 340th Infantry (Inf.)

328th, 329th, 330th Artillery (Art.)

328th, 329th, 330th Machine Gun (M. G.)

310th Engineers (Eng.)

Major General Commanding: C. W. Kennedy.

Depot Division at Pouilly.

The 85th Division also appears to have had

310th Trench Mortar Battery

310th Field Signal Battalion

310th Train Headquarters and MP

310th Ammunition Train

310th Supply Train

310th Sanitary Train

So it is going to be even more important to get a good look at the collar disc to see what the symbol is!