Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Artillery Message Shells

Doc2

On another post, a member posted an extract of a newspaper article which referenced "one of the artillery shells the Germans used to fire messages between battlefields.'' Never heard about these before-- what were they, and how were they used? I can't imagine they would be of very much use on a battlefield. Thanks. Doc2

Proparganda shells were used in the Second World War, I can find nothing about their use in the Great War.

John

I have no knowledge of artillery message shells. Regarding grenades, if of interest I can find no reference to use of a British message grenade in 14-18. However, the French did use a variant of the VB (Viven Bessiere) rifle grenade to convey messages. Range was 350 metres with a smoke discharge of 40 seconds for location purposes.

Max

I have dug up out of one of my publication that there was a Rocket Message Carrying MK1 maximum range 1,600 yards see attached.

John

post-1365-1192214028.jpg

I just saw a cut-away illustration of a Nachrichtengeschoss a few days ago. I'll be dam#$ed if I can remember where it was though...let me poke around my books.

Paul

The introduction of the message shell was due to the hope that it would still be possible to send a message in a light Minenwerfer shell, when all other means of communication had broken down.

Designation.—Light Minenwerfer message shell = leichte Nachrichten-Mine (I.N.M.). ' .

Maximum range.—1,422 yards. This shell is fired from the

(7.6 cm.) new light Minenwerfer (1916 pattern). Distinctive! marking.—The letters l.N.M. and 3 black rings round

the cylindrical portion.

Description.—The message shell consists of the following parts: A light Minenwerfer shell case, a flare in which there is a compartment to take a message, a burster and a time fuse.