Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Military Medal & Bar - William Edward Tallowin

Twiglet

Hello Everyone, I'm a Newbie.... :ph34r:

Got lots of questions - eek - about two of my great uncles, I hope you can help.

Firstly, W.E. Tallowin won a Military Medal and a bar (which we think was postumous). My question is, is there any way of finding out WHAT he won this medal for?

Any help, greatfully received.

Cheers

Twiglet

It's unlikely unless it was recorded in the Battalion Diaries. You can get an indication of when he won the awards by checking the date of the Gazette entries. (rule of thumb is very very roughly 3 months previously). I suppose another possibility would be local newspapers. Best of Luck

Neil

Hi Neil, thanks for your reply. I found and downloaded the medal cards last night and found the entries on the Gazette website too. I did think about newspapers, etc. I presume that's a trip to the British Library though!

Local Library would probably be more likely. I tried looking him up on CWGC in case you hadn't done that, but that site seems to be having problems. Maybe someone could look him up on SDGW for you. It probably won't tell you any more, but you never know.

Neil

I'll get on the case, although I think I may be directed back to National Archives/British Library, as they were both from London?

Yes, got all the info I could get from CWGC.

Would be VERY grateful if anyone could look up either William Edward Tallowin (20832 Royal Garrison Artillery), died 30/08/17, or Samuel Thomas Tallowin (46275 15th (The King's) Hussars), died 22/03/18. As far as we know, they were brothers.

In case you havent seen them.

http://www.cwgc.org/search/casualty_detail...casualty=164115

and

http://www.cwgc.org/search/casualty_detail...asualty=1589281

The fact William was a bombadier makes it more likely he would have gotten a mention in diaries.

Neil

In case you havent seen them.