Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

6th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers

stevefogs

First of all thank you all out there for replying to my last two messages! I am still very new to all this, but what a website!

I am researching information on a soldier for a very good friend of mine, and to be honest i am struggling at the moment. So if anyone out there can help it would be fantastic. I am searching for information on Private 6724 Henry Livingstone Phillipson of the 6th Battalion Northumberland fusiliers, who died from his wounds in the UK on February 14th 1917.

I know that Henry won the military medal, but alas my friend, who's great grandfather he was has no information on where,when,and why he won it. Information on the battalions positions and actions around that time would also be very useful. Thanks once again to everyone for supporting this fantastic website, and for the help that everyone gives.

This is a funny one, beause the CWGC has him buried in Chester-le-Street as serving with the 6th Bn, and yet Soldiers Died has him included in the roll of the 10th Battalion's killed and died?? To cap it all the 1/6th Bn War Diary, which does include substantial lists of casualties doen't have him listed either, so my conclusion is that he may have been transferred out of the 1/6th Bn to the 10th Bn and was badly wounded with them. However I haven't seen the relevant Medal Roll Sheet to confirm or deny this transfer.

Graham.

Graham

These are his details:

Name: PHILLIPSON, Henry Livingstone

Regiment, Corps etc.: Northumberland Fusiliers

Battalion etc.: 10th Battalion.

Last name: Phillipson

First name(s): Henry Livingstone

Initials: H

Birthplace: Haydon Bridge, Northumberland

Enlisted: Chester-Le-Street, Durham

Residence:

Number: 6724

Date died: 14 February 1917

How died: Died of wounds

Theatre of war: Home

Supplementary Notes: M.M

Regards