Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Western Signal Companies (Army troops), Royal Engineers.

Polar Bear

Hello as this is my first post I will put a (brief) introduction here. I am an amateur (armchair?) military historian currently researching the career of my Grandfather Lieutenant Colonel Clive Whateley Robinson. I am lucky for I have a box file full of his military records and effects. These date from the Second World War and it is his service during the First World War that is causing far more problems. There are many 'tangles' for the sources I have do not agree.

My first question is can anyone give me anyinformation about the Western Signal Companies (Army troops), Royal Engineers. They appear to have been a West Lancashire formation. Were they TA? as I currently suspect. I am having a real hard time finding anything out about them and they are the start of the story.

One of my sources describes them as the West Lancashire Royal Engineers - is this correct?

Any help would be greatly appreciated on this infuriating but fun pursuit. I look forward to any information you might have. I am aware my first post shouldnt be a post asking for aid but this has been bugging me for a year now :angry2: . In the future Im sure i'll require the aid of those who know more than me, but I hope to also help others in any way I can.

A publication about the West Lancashire Division (T.F.) from 1911 makes reference to the Western Telegraph Companies R.E. Late 1st Lancashire Royal Engineers Headquarters 38 Mason Street, Edge Hill ,Liverpool the Hon Col.is Col.J.F.Robinson and amongst the officers there is a Captain C.F. Robinson. Could this be a family link ?

Unfortunatley my copy of the booklet is a poor photocopy so I cant scan and post the relelvant page but please let me know if you would like a photocopy of what I have and I will send by post.

P.B.