Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Engineer 1st Division (I think, Can you advise)

cuey

Hi all, I hope you can help with some expert advice. I don't really understand military designations so i'm a bit vague on what i'm looking at. I have my Great Grandads records which show he enlisted early on and went straight into the SOuth Glamorgan RE (he was a mason by trade so is the a usual move?)

If anyone could explain what i'm looking at and where i can find out what his troop/division did i would be forever greatful.

James Traylor

Born Hereford

Mason

Church of England

Quoted 3 years prior service with Herefordshire Rifle Volunteers

Aged 32y 2m when enlisting on 15 October 1914 in South Wales Borderers at Brecon Private 2690

Transferred to 2/1st East Glamorgan Works Coy Royal Engineers 10 February 1915 Sapper 1172

Transferred to 1/1st East Glamorgan Works Coy Royal Engineers 6 October 1915

Attached 1st Lowland Field Coy RE 14 January 1916

Transferred to 121st Fed? Coy RE 10 April 1918

Fuerher transfer illegible dated 3 November 1918

Served in France from 8 October 1915 to 20 April 1917

Discharged no longer physically fit for war service 9 September 1919

Subject was wounded 16 October 1918 eventually renumbered Sapper 454417

Waht does the 2/1st and 1/1st mean and was in normal to be "attached" to another company. Would this have been because he had a skill they needed. ANy light that you can shed on this or where the companies served would be fantastic. He seemed to get around a bit was this usual?

If he left France in 1917 but was injured in October 1918 (the war had just finished hadn't it) then where was he with the 121st?

I'm new to this and its the first time i've looked at any military records so i'm hoping the experts can educate me a little. Hope i haven't asked too much :rolleyes:

Yes, moving around in the RE was quite usual. If researching the RE wasn't enough of a nightmare already!