Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Sign in to follow this  
Fudgeweena

Northamptonshire Regiment War Diaries

Fudgeweena

My Great Great Uncle Alfred Skellham was killed in WW1, according to CWGC the date was 19/01/1915. My elderly Grandmother tells me there is a story of him being shot in the barracks by accident, as opposed to being killed in action. It has been suggested to me one of the ways to find out is investigate the war diaries. I am of limited funds and are trying to glean as much info from the internet as possible. I would be very grateful of any help offered, I am a complete novice at Family History/Genealogy especially the Military side.

He belonged to the Northamptonshire Regiment 2nd Bn Service No. 9350, he is buried at Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery, Souchez.

Terry Denham

CWGC records show 'Accidentally killed'.

Terry Denham

In the original CWGC WW1 cemetery registers published in the 1920s/30s, a cause of death was printed for a minority of the casualties.

This 'cause of death' was supplied by the next-of-kin (if they wished) on the Final Verification Form which they returned to CWGC (and so may not be totally accurate). CWGC retain this information in their database but do not reproduce it in the on-line record. However, if you request a print-out from them of all the burials in a particular cemetery, you do get this information.

Your relative's entry bears the wording I gave above.

(Apologies. I deleted the above post by accident! One of the dangers of being a Moderator! Luckily I read it first)

Jon6640
(Apologies. I deleted your second post by accident! One of the dangers of being a Moderator! Luckily I read it first)

A quick copy of the CWGC details that gone deleted,

Casualty Details

Name: SKELLHAM, ALFRED

Initials: A

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment/Service: Northamptonshire Regiment

Unit Text: 2nd Bn.

Date of Death: 19/01/1915

Service No: 9350