Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Life in London

Guest SFerrell

I am brand new at this. I am one of the millions of dumb Americans who know nothing of the War. My office mate, Cynthia Panton told me about this site. I know that I may sound silly, but I do not want the brave men and women to be forgotten.

I feel, for me, looking at the home front is a good place to start.

I would also like to know if I have a rank yet.

Welcome, Pte Ferrell! Just remember during the course of our work day that I am an officer!

Glad to have you with the Pals. I guess my constant talking about it just wore you down. You may want to change your office!

Cynthia :D

Cynthia, you should be ashamed of yourself !

You've started Pte Ferrell on a lifelong addiction which he (or is it she?) will never be able to kick. :D

Welcome to the forum

Michael Mills

Cynthia

I am sure that you will be appointed regional recruiting officer in the very near future.

Private Ferrell, a warm welcome. We don't really care too much about rank but an occassional forelock tug to Lt Cynthia may help progress your career somewhat!

Best wishes

Terry Reeves

Welcome, and an interesting topic.

I'm sure there are many aspects to this,-the Londoners themselves, of varying areas and social class, who actually lived there; the British soldiers from other parts of Britain, many of whom had probably never been to London before, and were passing through;the Colonial soldiers, to whom London was the centre of the Empire; and the various types of foreigners, some as soldiers, probably some as refugees.. All would have very different views of London.

I know from their letters home that my Fijian men reacted to London in various ways, admiring the sights, visiting the tourist spots, but commenting on the people and the restrictions, wondering why they didn't speak English! :o