Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Neuve Chapelle – East Surrey Regiment – March 1915

corcam

Hi

I am afraid I am only an amateur at all this but I am trying to establish a little more about this battle. I have the 2nd Battalion East Surrey Regiment War Diary for the fourteen days that my Great Uncle was in WW1. Anyway on the day of the battle 12th March it says

It was arranged that 7th Brigade would attack Spanbroek Molen at 8.40am but owing to mist it was postponed until 4.15pm. E1 trench was heavily shelled by our own artillery, causing many casualties. The attack was not successful” – it then lists some officers that were lost and the number of wounded and then states 7 men missing.

I presume this means that trench E1 was actually fired on by our own men, was this a usual occurance?

Also is there anyway of finding out exactly where trench E1 was? From previous postings I now realise that my Great Uncle’s body was found (I have the ID tag) but he is now in an unmarked grave or buried near the trenches so it would be nice to know exactly where this would have been.

I can see a visit to Neuve Chapelle may be on the cards!!

Best wishes

Corcam

He didn't die at Neuve Chapelle, but at a place you mention in the diary extract - Spanbroekmolen in the Ypres Salient in Belgium. It is close to the village of Wytschaete ('Whitesheet'). 1st East Surreys attacked there at this time - the same time the battle was taking place further south in France at Neuve-Chapelle. I am presuming he is commemorated on the Menin Gate?

There is a map of this area in my book 'Walking The Salient'.

Hi

I am afraid I am only an amateur at all this but I am trying to establish a little more about this battle. I have the 2nd Battalion East Surrey Regiment War Diary for the fourteen days that my Great Uncle was in WW1. Anyway on the day of the battle 12th March it says