Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Found my (RGA) Grandfather! Would like assistance please

keggy65

I posted a query quite some time ago about my grandfather in "soldiers" and was given some very helpful advice. As a consequence, I have (finally) managed to get to Kew (scary place for a complete novice) and couldn't believe it when I found my grandfather's WW1 papers. However, now that I've had a wee while to read through them, I'd like to ask for more assistance please.

As I'm no expert and don't know the right questions to ask, I would like to tell you what they say and ask for comments about places, dates, names, brigades, batteries, places etc - anything at all, in fact, that might help me piece together his time in the RGA. Sorry if it seems overly long. Here goes (I've set the details out in date order):

In "Statement of the Services of ... "Enlisted - took the oath at Barrow in Furness on 11/12/1915.

Attested on 11/12/1915

Sent to Army Reserve 12/12/1915

Mobilised .. unreadable

Posted ... unreadable

Joined 26/3/1917

Attested (again?) 31/3/1917 at Fort Brockhurst, Gosport

Papers signed by Lt Col Cox(head?), CO No 2 Depot RGA

Posted 3 Res Batty 14/4/1917

"Campaigns" - Home Br, Unit T/I SARB (?) 26/3/17 - 14/7/17

(Unreadable) Basrah, 15/7/1917

Basrah (Ashar), 18/8/1917

177 Hvy Btty, (which, according to the Long, Long Trail site is with the 2nd Bgde) 16/2/18

MEF 15/7/1918 (?)

Home (unreadable) Posted 1/2/1919

Transferred to Class "Z" Army Reserve on demobilisation 11/4/1919.

On what looks like a medical report it says "Southampton 15/7/1917" then

Ashar, 18/8/17 - SS Briton

Makina 5/9/1917

22.7.1918 - "Granted PRO (?) Pay Cl:I (N.R.) (?) Field 29/9/1917 Vide A.O... of 1918

7/9/18 - 5 Ind Div (under "From Whom Received", Granted. Working pay whilst employed as Bricklayer with RE Works on 31 days at 6 annas per diem