Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Household Battalion

Mechanic

Trooper, Matthew Kiddie, 3244, 1st Household Battalion was KIA "in the field of france C/1422" according to his Service Record.

Can anyone help with the whereabouts of his battalion between 10/11/17 and 29/12/17?

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

The CWGC site says that Matthew Kiddie is buried at Monchy-le-Preux, near Arras, so that gives us an idea of what part of France he was in when he met his death. Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of the Household Battalion. I don't think that there was any actual fighting going on in Monchy itself at that time but the troops defending it would have been subject to general shelling, sniping and machine gun fire.

Hope this helps a little.

Ian

The 4th Division, including the Household Battalion, were attacking west of Poelcappelle on the 12th October, 1917. Matthew must have survived this.

I have a copy of the book on the Household Battalion's war. BUT my son has it at the moment!! Will see him at the weekend and try to get it back! Also have the diary my avatar Trooper John Joseph kept until his death at Paschendale...again my son has it! PM me if you are interested

Getting there - the Household Battalion were engaged in the defence of Bourlon Wood from 30th November, 1917 to the 3rd December, 1917.

Just been playing around with this and there is a Tpr Fullerton of the Household Battalion who also died on the same day as Matthew (19.12.17.) buried at Happy Valley (Fampoux).

Also at Monchy, Household Battalion casualties are:

Tpr EV Adams (14.12,17.)

Tpr JW Redman (14.12.17)

Tpr W Aspin (22.12.17)

Tpr J Ruthven (29.1.18.)

Tpr JW Taylor (29.1.18.)

Cpl HE Taylor (29.1.18.)

Tpr RJM Dewar (31.12.18.)

These appear to me to be the sort of casualty figures one might expect from a battalion defensively holding a position rather than one engaged in raiding or an attack.

Cheers,

Ian