Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Roeux and Chemical Works Arras

lambert

I would like to visit the area of the Rouex Chemical Works which was taken during the battle of Arras and at which my grandfathers brother was killed when the 10th Lincolns took part in the action on 28th April 1917.

Is the anything left to see, remains of Works Chateau etc. I understand that the Motorway runs near the site and houses have also been built.If anyone has visited the area I would be pleased of some info.

Sid

Just added a little on Roeux to the Arras pages of my site;

http://www.battlefields1418.com/roeux.htm

I have been visiting Roeux since the early 1980s when the remains of the Chemical Works was still visible. Sadly it is now covered with a supermarket, houses and a tennis court. The nearby bunker, once in open fields, is also now surrounded by houses.

You will find graves from the unit you mention in Roeux British Cemetery.

I have studied the 23rd to 28th April from the perspectice of the 6th Bedfords who attacked Greenland Hill, between Rouex and Gavrelle. The German guns in the chemical works were what cut their attack to pieces both times and left the Btn 58 strong by the end of the 28th.

Was there Sept and despite the motorway having cut through much of the line of advance from 23rd April, the line they reached and assaulted from on the 28th is still there & if you go armed with trench maps you can stand on the ground OK.

Here is the supermarket marked on the photo, there is not a great deal to see behind it as you can imagine, but the view from the train station towards the motorway gives a good field of view

Andy

:rolleyes:

post-10939-1170668728.jpg

Superb comparision Andy - thank you

Stephen

Thanks, some nice photo's already on Pauls link , this area has become a somewhat forgotten battlefield until quite recently

Andy