The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Tracking my Great GrandFather

jhmarkham

Hi

I am a real novice at this.

I have tracked the medal card for my great grandfather John Markham. During the war he was in 3 regiments and I suppose I am looking to find out where he was and what timeframes he would have been in each regiment.

He entered the war in Sept 1915 in France (1). he served as a private in the Loyal North Lancashire Regiment (19019), the Royal Fusiliers (106423) and the Labour corps (577335).

Any assitance on where to look would be much appriciated, trying to get together a history to present to his daughter. i.e my nan

Gavin

welcome to the forum

The medal roll (found from the ref numbers on the MIC) may show transfered dates

or you could see if his papers are at the NA, kew

Just had a look for him on the Times casualty lists:

Times 16-11-1916

List of Wounded

post-6536-1170248768.jpg

It is difficult to draw any solid conclusions from the lists apart from that he was wounded before this date!

However, the delay between wounding and publication was usually about a month (a week for officers).

Men killed in the Regiment on the same list are:

26993 Private John Gilmore, 8th Battalion, Died 11-10-1916

29967 Private R Hargeaves, 8th Battalion, Died 12-10-1916

27029 Private M Lomas, 8th Battalion, Died 15-10-1916

27055 Private Richard O'Neill, 8th Battalion, Died 14-10-1916.

So, if we were going to jump to conclusions, we might say that he was probably in the 8th Battalion and was wounded somewhere around 11th to 15th October 1916. This coincides with 8th Battalions capture and defence of Stuff Redoubt near Thiepval from 11th October 1916 to 14th October 1916.

The date of entry of September 1915 does in fact coincide with the entry date of the 8th Battalion:

http://www.1914-1918.net/loyals.htm

http://www.1914-1918.net/25div.htm

Is the date at the end of September ?