Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The 20 minuters

Matt Dixon

Tried to see if this has been a thread before but with no success.

Was this expression really used during WW1, and if so who first coined the phrase?

If it really was the case that life expectancy was only 20 minutes, how on earth did anyone actually join up!

:P

......and the Womens Balloon Corps sounds an excellent choice in careers! Fnar fnar!!

GWRCo

Mattpdixon,

I have no knowledge of just when the term originated, probably around April '17. There are various figures quoted from 20 minutes to 3 weeks. All are very subjective. I know of a case where a pilot died in an accident over his own aerodrome within two hours of arriving at the front and without ever getting close to an enemy. Another where an observer was killed on a mission so soon after he arrived, that he had not even unpacked his kit.

The simple fact is that if you survived your first few missions, you were likely to live for quite a while. Many of the long surviving Aces who were killed, suffered bad luck..or pressed their luck once too often.

The main ally of a pilot is SA, situational awareness (although it would be many years hence that the term was coined). New pilots find it very hard to quickly pick up other aircraft. This is problematic in the circuit, frequently fatal in combat.

Pilots have recounted that on their first mission they failed to see any enemy whilst their flight leader saw a sky full.

Not much of an answer...but there it is.

regards

Darryl

No that was very helpful. I did wonder whether Blackadder had plagerised the phrase or whether they had really taken it from the WW1 dictionary.

Regardless of where the phrase came from, I think they were all mad! :blink:

Many thanks!

Matt