Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Tyneside Scottish and Irish Brigades

Guest Dave Hall

Guest Dave Hall

I am currently studying history at Sunderland University, and am in the Process of producing my dissertation. This is a study of the Tyneside Scottish and Tyneside Irish Brigades (20th to 27th Northumberland Fusiliers, part of the 34th Division) and their assault on La Boisselle on July 1st 1916.

I am searching for first hand accounts, diaries, letters, photographs and general information regarding these units and this action.

Any help received would be very gratefully recieved as I'm getting stressed with the workload!!

Dave Hall

david.l.hall@blueyonder.co.uk

Pen & Sword Books, Barnsley have published two books in their "Pals" series. Tyneside Scottish and Tyneside Irish. They are worth getting if you have not seen them.

Regards

Terry

Dave

You may know that the remains of Private George J Nugent 22/1306 (aged 28) 22nd (Tyneside Scottish), Northumberland Fusiliers who was posted missing during the attack on La Boiselle on 1/7/16 were discovered where he had lain for some 80 years, on the rim of the Lochnagar Crater at the end of the last century.

He was re-buried on 1st July 2000 at Ovillers CWGC Cemetery with full military honours. Grave ref 1.A.26A

I was one of hundreds of British who attended the very moving funeral which was held on a beautiful summer's day, with the air full of skylarks, just as they had been on that terrible day all that time ago. Were there any other forum members there?

Tim

Yes, I was there Tim, and I agree it was a most moving experience. I re-visited the cemetery some hours after the event, to find it deserted, the large number of wreathes being the only sign that a special occasion had taken place.