Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Buying a Lee-Enfield

peter__m

Ok guys.

There's an opportunity for me to buy an old gun here.

Found a wee dealer in my town.

Seems like a good guy.

He has a range of these from 1903 to 1918.

They all look class to me.

I don't know much about it but I assume the one in 1903 is one of the first new type issue?

Also he has one with RIF (Royal Irish Fusiliers) on it and the marks (dial) for grenade attachment or something like that which have been later cut off.

Anyway I haven't a clue. This is way out of my depth. Help me make a good decision. I just would love one for a wee collection in honour of my great grandfather.

What do you guys think?

What should I be looking for to make a decision between these?

And how much would you think was a good price?

I'll tell you later the price we're talking about later.

Who knows maybe some of you will want one!

Thanks,

Peter

Peter Im no expert on the things but there are here so keep looking at the threads on SMLEs learn as much asyoucan from the experts, Pm them for advice and get to know what to look out for. You dont want a heavily refurbished item. I was lucky I got mine from a guy who was a daler but it was his and had decided to inactivate it as he didnt want to continue firing it. I was offered cheaper ones he had but I went for what I thought was the best one (didnt know a thing about it ). Cost me £185 in 2001 dont know the going rate now

http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r260/we...oc/IMGP0226.jpg

http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r260/we...=IMGP0223-1.jpg

good luck hunting,go for the best you can get!

Peter,