Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

SE5a or Sopwith Camel?

Jonathan Saunders

I was hoping the aviation enthusiasts amongst us would like to comment on which aircraft they believe to have been the better fighter aeroplane - the SE5a or the Sopwith Camel. Also how did these planes evolve ie. what unforeseen problems materialised once they were released to service and how were these problems resolved, if at all.

I am no engineer but my instinct tells me the SE5a was the better plane, more versatile armament, I assume faster maximum speed, she handled easier than the pull of the big rotary engine and I expect she could take more combat punishment in a Hurricane-esq style. But I might be totally wrong ...

Thanks and regards,

Jon S

I’ll probably get shot down in flames for these opinions :) , but here goes.

The SE5a was a good stable gun platform, but fairly manoeuvrable and fast for its time. The Camel was deliberately unstable and with the torque of the rotary engine could turn incredibly quickly.

Thus they suit different styles of fighting; the Camel is an out and out dogfighter whereas the SE5a is more for planned tactics.

Many of the high scoring RFC pilots used the SE5a, but more German aircraft were brought down by the Camel.

On the down side IIRC more Camels were destroyed in accidents than were shot down in combat.

Not a lot to choose between them.

Regards

Bob

Bob,

are you flying a Camel or an SE5?

If it were an SE5 he would more likely have suffered a forced landing due to engine failure, now an SE5a on the other hand ...? ;)

On the down side IIRC more Camels were destroyed in accidents than were shot down in combat.Regards

Bob

Which has been said of the Seafire from carriers during allied landings in Sicily, Italy and France during WW2.

Without a parachute, does it matter.