Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Photo Interpretation

Pete1052

Can anyone describe how the interpretation of aerial photographs progressed during the Great War? I imagine that at the beginning of the war there was no doctrine or training for imagery analysis, no staffs to do the work, and the only available tool was more than likely a hand-held magnifying glass. I'm curious about how these photographs were used and interpreted, and how the analyses were distributed to headquarters at the various levels of command. By World War II photo interpretation had become quite a science and today satellite imagery is an industry.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

:D Hello in all,

I can explain how evolved the air photo for the French military aeronautics.

I studied the squadron 62 which was specialized in photo recognitions for the VI-th French Army of 1915-1918.

This squadron, created on August 11, 1915, received Maurice Farman MF 11 (engine Renault of 8 cylinders in V and developing 80 ch)

As one goes along, the squadron is going to be endowed with much more specialized planes.

In the order: Nieuport 10, Nieuport 12, Nieuport 14, Sopwith 1A2, Spad XI, Spad VII. These planes are charged only with the photo recognition and at sight. An observer, if weather report does not allow to take pictures, must be capable of executing at sight sketches on maps with the position of german lines. Reconnaissance planes being photo very vulnerable, they are always accompanied with at least 3 fighter planes. For the 62, one is going so to find : Nieuport 11, Nieuport 16, Nieuport 17, Nieuport 24 bis, Spad VII.

In a squadron as the 62, one counts then 3 types of cameras:

- Cameras with small foyer (0,50 m of focal) which one can use vertically and obliquely.

- cameras with big foyer (1,20 m of focal) in sector stabilized before.

- cameras with hand (0,26 m) for the vertical and oblique shots.