Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Salvage shell casings

Prussia

I was recently shown a brass shell casing for a 4.5 howitzer that was stamped 1916 on the circumfrence of the base but 1917 on the centre. I was told that this was becuase the shell casing had been re-filled and used again. Do any members know if this is correct as i thought that the casings were salvaged to be melted down and re-cast?

I'm no expert on this, but are the stampings on the same bit of metal, or is one on the main base and the other on the inserted round central section where the percussion cap is?

If they're on different bits it could mean that these were manufactured separately, and at different times, and the whole thing later put together at a filling factory?

Yes, the casings were salvaged and re-used wherever possible. A brass case was very expensive and complicated to manufacture. The percussion cap that fits in the centre will of course be renewed each time. This is why it is quite common to find for example a 1916 dated cartridge case with a 1917 or 1918 central percussion cap. If you look on the base of a British 18 pdr case you will see CF (for Cordite Filled) and maybe another F or two - each one is a re-fill.

Thanks Max

That's it!

Exactly as per the example shown to me.

I presume that wear and tear were were checked for in the filling factory?

Just on the off chance, do you know if if these types of re-used casings were more prone to prematures or not?

Malcolm

The salvaged cartridge cases are put through stringent examination before being refilled, you will not get a premature in a cartridge you perhaps will get a hangfire from damp propellant. There are three types of premature, 1. Bore, self explanatory (with the bore of the piece) 2. Muzzle, within 100 mtrs of the muzzle. 3, In Flight, within the line of the trajectory.

John