Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Need to understand about rank

annestormont

Sorry to be so ignorant, but I really don't fully understand the rankings in the Army. If my uncle was a WO2 would his service record be under officer ?

Anne

Anne,

No, to the officer records; his authority is sanctioned by Royal Warrant, but he is still not a Commissioned Officer as he has no Commission.

What regiment was he in? As this helps to determine what his appopintment was.

Aye

Tom McC

Thanks for that Tom. I'm just beginning to glean bits of info about this relative who was Albert John Wyatt born 1900 and serving in the Army at 14. His son says he was initially in the City of London Brigade, then the Norfolk regiment. I haven't been able to find his mic - he didn't use Albert, known as Johnny, or John. I'm waiting to receive info from his son which I hope will be useful. Anne

Anne

The usual rank structure in the infantry arm, of which the Norfolks were part, ran from Private, Lance Corporal, Corporal, Sergeant, Colour Sergeant, Warrant Officer 2nd Class (WO2) and Warrant Officer 1st Class (WO1). You then entered into the Commissioned officers listings.

There were variations to a WO2's job depending on regimental requirements but usually a WO2 in the infantry would be a Company Sergeant Major (CSM) or Regimental Quartermaster although at times these 'appointments' (they weren't ranks in themselves) may have been held by men of other ranks i.e. Colour Sergeant. It can at times be confusing but certainly by the later stages of the war I believe the above jobs were fairly standardised. I'll now don my trusty flak jacket and tin hat and stand by for a barrage of corrections!

Greg