Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Kviberg, Göteborg. Sweden

jocan

Hi!

I'm a newbie here, hope I'm in the right forum for this question. Am Canadian citizen living in Gothenburg on the west coast of Sweden, live close to Kviberg cemetery. I occasionally visit the Commonwealth memorial there, although I have no relatives there. Noticed that some of the crew of the HM Drifter Catspaw are buried there. The Catspaw sank December 31, 1919. My first question is- I'm a bit confused that the date is as late as December 1919 - I thought the war was over by then? Or is a drifter a minesweeper? Just curious about her fate, and haven't been able to find anything on the Internet.

Another question -I see you have a forum about POWs. Is there a similar forum for WWII? My now deceased father served with ASHCAN (Argyll & Sutherland, Canada) and was a POW, but never really told us much about it before he died.

Thanks for any info. Joanne

The Catspaw was a 96gr tons Admiralty Steel Drifter built by Ouse Shipbuilders 6/8/18 and used for minesweeping and coastal patrols. It was part of Admiral Cowan's Baltic Squadron and was returning to Copenhagan from involvement in the North Russian campaign as the Gulf of Reval had frozen up. She foundered in a storm at position N 56 21,20 ; E 16 34,20 off Segerstad, Öland (in the Kattegat), with all hands being lost (3 officers and 11 men)

The Swedish Salvage Company "Neptun" was accepted for the purchase of the wreck for 500 pounds "subject to the destruction of the gun on board and the return to the Admiralty of any books or documents which may be salved".

If you put 'drifter' and 'Catspaw' into Google then one of the returns will be a diving forum, one correspondent having posted links to pictures of the Catspaw. However, it appears you have to join up to ba able to access the links.

Best wishes.

Andy.

Joanne

Welcome to the Forum. I hope you enjoy your stay.