Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Gnr Edwin Healey – Royal Garrison Artillery

Guest CaptainQuark

Guest CaptainQuark

Please help!

I'm a first-timer at this genealogy business, but I find I have to become good at it very quickly as I'm putting together a family history book on behalf of an important client. One of the family members I'm researching is an Edwin Dyson Healey (1883-1964) of Hull, listed in his marriage certificate as a "General & Shoeing Smith".

A search of the National Archives website reveals that an Edwin D Healey of the Royal Garrison Regiment received a campaign medal.

Can any of the experts on this forum suggest ways of finding out whether these two people are one and the same?

What is the likelihood of a "general & shoeing smith" being posted to an artillery regiment rather than the local East Yorkshire infantry regiment. Presumably (I'm not an expert in WWI miltary history) artillery pieces were still horse-drawn, but would his professional expertise be of any use in maintaining and repairing the artillery pieces themselves?

Also, I have attached the relevant medal card, but there is no indication of which medal was awarded. Any ideas?

Many thanks to anyone who can help me shed some light on this.

CQ

post-14098-1154692159.jpg

Hello CQ

The easy part is the British War and Victory campaign medals were awarded for entry into the theatrs of war after the beginning of 1916.

Although there is a high probability that Edwin D on your MIC is your candidate, you should take nothing for granted. There are at least 8 Edwins in the 1901 census that woould have been eligible for miltary service in the First World War:

http://www.1901censusonline.com/results.as...i=person_search