Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Wreckage washed up on British shores

swizz

I am a total novice when it comes to naval matters, so perhaps this is a question with a very obvious answer, but when wreckage was washed up on British shores, who owned it? Did it belong to whoever found it, or did it automatically belong to the state - a kind of 'treasure trove' idea?

I am interested in what happened to the wreckage of ships which were, say, torpedoed or lost in some other way off the British coast.

Swizz

Officially, the Queen/The Crown Estate owns all Britain's Coastline. I'm no expert when it comes to laws of salvage etc, but I would think the Queen would technically have first dibs on any flotsam and jetsum

doogal

I think you are probably right Doogal although Official Salvagers may have an interest also the Receiver of Wrecks.Was there not a bit of a do a couple of years ago when a cargo of wood was washed ashore and the locals got into trouble for using it to make sheds,etc.

I know its the wrong War but was not the Book and Film "Whisky Galore" based on fact?I can also recall my Mother talking about Butter being washed ashore from a Vessel off Dundee during WW2 and it being used for domestic consumption.

George

Thanks doogal, I had no idea that the Queen owned the coastline! I thought the monarch might have a claim on items which were washed up there though.

Swizz

Sorry dycer I think you must have posted while I was writing my first reply! I have never read Whiskey Galore but perhaps I should get hold of a copy! The story about the butter is exactly the sort of thing I'm interested in, since presumably a lot of the things which were washed up would have been useful to local people.

Perhaps there was a value restriction on what should be declared? Like with the treasure trove where only items worth over a certain amount have to be turned over the state.

Swizz