Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Field Marshal Sir Douglas Haig: A2 Coursework

mmbennett

I realise I am new to the forums, but I thought it best to ask this question here...

I also realise that Field Marshal Haig was one of the most contraversial figures to emerge from the Great War, and that history has often subjected him to such connotations as the "Butcher of the Somme"...which perhaps for some, with regards to his position as Commander-in-Chief of all British and Empire forces on the Western Front, may be understandable. The Somme was a battle which formed the centre around a bleak chapter in the history of the British Army, responsibility for which, was traced back to Field Marshal Haig...

Anyway, for my Independent Historical Study (I am currently an A Level student) I intend to examine how and why Sir Douglas Haig came to become associated with such connotations as above, and most importantly, the extent to which he was deserving of them.

There are very strong views on this topic, both for and against, but intend to be as objective and impartial as possible...

...of course, your own views, thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated, as would any texts, articles and biographies you could possibly provide.

I look forward to your replies...

Thanks in advance...

Regards,

Matt

Good luck on your venture,

I have wondered and changed my mind on this man so often for the last twenty years in my dealings with the first world war. I think your task is both worthy and massive. I have found that what ever eveidence you think you have found to be true can often be refuted by another good source.

I have recently order a book that covers his official dispatches that should arrive soon. if you need anything along these lines just e-mail me and i'll do a look up. i will refrain from giving my opinion to you as it will likely change at a later date.