Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Enlistment in Monmouthshire Regiment

Martyn Gibson

I have recently been given by a family member my grandfathers Certificate of Disembodiment on Demobilization Army form Z21. My quandry is with his initial enlistment in the Monmouthshire Regiment, it states that he joined this regiment on 2/7/1914. I have checked through some sites that give a quick rundown on the various battalions but all the dates shown, of which I presume are when they were raised, are all after his initial enlistment date.

ie. 1/1 Battalion T.F. August 1914 in Newport.

2/1 Battalion T.F. Formed in Newport in September 1914.

Can any one enlighten me on these dates as I thought that the Monmouthsire Territorials were some time before the outbreak of war.

Many thanks in advance.

I am no expert but I believe that 1 Monmouth Regt. came into being in 1908 having previously been 2nd. Volunteer Batt. South Wales Borderers. Could it be that in August 1914 the Battalion were 'at' Newport (their HQ)as they had been mobilzed for home defence, rather than 'formed at' Newport.

They took their 1/1 designation prior to 2/1 their second line Batt. being formed?

Martyn, there are a couple of books by Dr John Dixon on the history of the Monmouths, and very extensive they are too. I cannot lay my hands on the titles straight away, but if someone does not get in first, I'll post them here soon.

When the Territorial Force came into being on 1 April 1908, one of the innovations was the establisment of several new regiments. One of these was the Monmouthsire Regiment, this was formed from the volunteers affiliated to the South Wales Borderers.

On 4 Aug 1914, the Regiment's three Battalion headquaters were at:

1/1st Stow Hill, Newport.

1/2nd Osborne Road, Pontypool.

1/3rd Abergavenny