Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Info on Royal Guernsey Light Infantry

Guest dana

Hi there,

I am fairly new to this and am trying to trace where and what my great grandfather did in the 1914-1918 war.

He was from Guernsey and as part of the Royal Guernsey Light Infantry fought in France.His name was Fred Tostevin and he was Gunner.I have obtained the book "Diex Aix" by Major Edwin Parks from which I have ascertained that he was sent in with the 4th draft.

What I am trying to find out is where I can obtain a service number for him? where exactly the 4th draft was sent to ? and what happened there.

Can anyone help me with either information or useful website?

Many thanks if you can

Guest Ian Bowbrick

Dana,

Do you have his medals? If so in the case of the circular War & Victory medals his number, name & regiment will be around the rims. If you have his paybook it will be in their also.

OK so you have nothing in the family, a visit to the PRO or National Archives as it is now will yield the information you are looking for.

Before setting out on any research, always ask your relatives for any info first. Families have more info than they think :)

Good luck!

Ian

Hi Ian,

thanks for your help.

Unfortunately I do not have any medals and the family members who may have helped are now deceased, nobody else knows any further information.

Offhand do you know if the records for the RGLI were held at the PRO? I sort of assumed that they weren't with it being based in Guernsey.

The problem I have with my family is that coming from Guernsey there are no online records.I may have to try and send someone to the archives there to have a look for me, and see what they can find out.

Any further suggestions are much appreciated

There is an older history of the regiment;

Norman Ten Hundred. by A.Blicq: Guernsey Press Co., Ltd., 1920