Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

30th Reserve Infantry Regiment

Arditi

Hi Gents,

I am new to WWI history; having been a WW2 nut for years. I have recently picked up an 88 Commission rifle that is all matching and marked to the 30.RIR on the barrel band. It eventually ended up in Turkish service. My question is this...what is the rough unit history of this particular unit. Major battles...east or west service. Any help greatly appreciated. I am excited to learn more. Best Regards, Arditi(Russ)

Hi, Russ!

RIR 30 was most likely the reserve twin of the 30. (4. rheinisches) Infanterie=Regiment (Graf Werder), which in 1900 was garrisoned in Saarlouis; part of 32. Infanterie=Brigade, HQed in Saarbruecken; part of 16. Infanterie Division, HQed in Treves; part of VIII. Armee=Korps, HQed in Coblenz. It is 95% likely that this disposition was the same in 1914.

In 1914, the IR 30 would have mobilized in a few days after the declaration of war, and a few days later RIR 30 would have marched out, largely or entirely formed of veterans of IR 30 that were in the Reserve (first five years) phase of their reserve duty obligation. It is likely that there was a VIII. Reserve=Korps and that it joined that formation, but it probably went off to a different sector of the war fronts than VIII. Armee=Korps did.

Others may have better sources for where the unit fought during the war. The above info should be of interest to you, as, since your rifle is a Model 88, it probably was sent to RIR 30 well before the war, and may have been replaced with a Model 98 before the war began.

Bob Lembke

Many thanks for the information Bob. What major battles would the 30th have been involved in? Since this is a reserve unit would the transition from 88 to 98 have been earlier or during the war? Can you recommend some English book sources for more Prussian regimental history?

Thanks for your time my friend, Arditi(Russ)