Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Monmouthshire regiment

Guest nicky higginson

Guest nicky higginson

Hi everyone I'm new to this and would appreciate any help or advice I'm tracing my family tree and have located my grandads medal roll. I knew that he was in the Monmouth and the Cheshire Regiment and the roll confirm this and gives 4 different regiment numbers. I want to find out which battalion he was in with the aim of finding out where he saw active service. Can anyone tell me what the regiment numbers refer to and how I can reference them to a batallion?

Hi Nicky and welcome to the forum.

Give me the details you have already and I will have a look on my database for you. I only have details of 3rd Battalion Monmouthshire Regiment but if he is there I will let you know what else I may have that could be of interest to you.

Regards

Martyn

Hi Nicky

I am away now for two weeks. If you don't get any joy from others on this forum then please leave me the details and I will check them out for you when I return.

Regards

Martyn

Guest nicky higginson
Hi Nicky,

If you post his numbers I will be able to tell you if he is a 2nd Monmouthshire man.

All the best

David

Hi David

Thanks for taking the time to reply the numbers are 4272, 15918, and 267799. I'm new to this - any suggestions as to where i can find more information would be greatly appreciated

All the best

Nicky

Guest nicky higginson
Hi Nicky

I am away now for two weeks. If you don't get any joy from others on this forum then please leave me the details and I will check them out for you when I return.

Regards

Martyn

HI Martyn

The regiment numbers are 4272, 15918 and 267799 thanks for taking the time to reply i look forward to hearing from you

All the best

Nicky

Hi Nicky

All his numbers are Monmouthshire Numbers.