Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The Royal Warwickshire Fusiliers

Keith Baker

Hello everyone,

Firstly i will apologise to everyone if I am doing something wrong but it is my first attempt at doing this. I am looking for information on Second Lieutenant John Poynton of The Royal Warwickshire Fusiliers. He died on 4th of October 1917 and is buried in Poelcapelle cemetery in Belgium. I am trying to find out how he died and if he had any medal awarded to him.

Thanks.

Keith

Just a quickie (as an extended member of the Regimental family and friend of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment Museum).. but he wouldn't have been a Royal Warwickshire FUSILIER in 1917, as the regiment didn't go 'Fusilier' until 1963.

Here's his entry from the Commonwealth War Graves Commission database:

Name: POYNTON, JOHN

Initials: J

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment: Royal Warwickshire Regiment

Unit Text: 1st/6th Bn.

Date of Death: 04/10/1917

Additional information: Son of Edward Poynton, of Ashby, Burton-on-Trent; husband of Olive Turner (formerly Poynton), of Anglo Cottage, Killingworth Rd., Forest Hall, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: LI. E. 18.

Cemetery: POELCAPELLE BRITISH CEMETERY

No indication of any awards, but his medal index card might be around.

He may not have had a gallantry medal, but this is probably his MIC (only Poynton in Royal Warwickshire Regiment who served abroad - who's not called Frank):

Medal card of Poynton, John

Corps Regiment No Rank

North Staffordshire Regiment 7897 Private

Royal Warwickshire Regiment Second Lieutenant

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...&resultcount=11

The link is just to the download page. Cost is £3.50 for a scan of the actual MIC.

This should list his Service Medals, at least and may refer to other medals, too.

Steve.