Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Search James Gow, Serjeant Royal Scots Fusiliers

Guest heiland laddie

Guest heiland laddie

Hello everyone, I am new here so I hope you’ll be patient with this very long post.

I am trying to find out about my paternal grandfather’s war service – James Gow. From family tradition and photos, I know he was a native of Perthshire, born either in Dalwhinnie or Dalnaspidal. Pre-war, he was a gamekeeper by profession and he joined the local TF battalion, 6th Black Watch (later called 1/6th) early in the war. His battalion was part of the 51st Highland Division. Somewhere in my dad’s house there are studio photos of granddad, as I remember, firstly as a private and later as a corporal in the Black Watch. A later outdoor photo shows him in the uniform of a serjeant (I think ?) of the Royal Scots Fusiliers. I do not have his war medals and I don’t know his service number. Looking at the great war family research facility, I can’t find an NCO rank for J or James Gow in the RSF but I did find a “J Gow” who was a serjeant in the Black Watch – his number was 200251. I wonder if that can be him ?