Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

7/8 KOSB locations?

Mike C

I'm really new at this so any help appreciated. My Grandad was with the 18th BN. CEF. On April 13, 1918 he joined the 18th in the field. He participated in the battle of Amiens on Aug. 8, 1918. He was moved up near Arras and was KIA on Aug. 26, 1918 on the first day of that battle. The connection to the KOSB's is illustrated in the wallet he carried and was subsequently sent home with his effects. On the outside of the wallet is his name, service number and home address. On the inside of the wallet is "Made at Villars Sir Simon" "D.P.Ellis Maker 7/8 KOSB's France". It appears to be have made of horsehide. It is still very soft and supple. A check with the KOSB's Regimental Museum reveals that D.P. Ellis's name does not appear on their Roll Of Honor, so it seems he survived the war. No other information is available. Would the 2 units, 18th CEF and 7/8 KOSB's have been in close proximity before the battle at Arras? Or somewhere else?

Thanks for any input.

Mike C

Would the 2 units, 18th CEF and 7/8 KOSB's have been in close proximity before the battle at Arras?  Or somewhere else?

Hi Mike,

From "The K.O.S.B. in the Great War" by Capt. Stair Gillon:

Jan-Mar 1918