Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Which unit was dirty?

Chris_Baker

I'm studying the doings of the battalions of 91st Brigade, 7th Division, and a war diary entry amused me. I've seen similar ones before.

According to the Adjutant of the 2nd Queens, on March 2nd 1917 "Battalion moved to Bolton Camp, at P 17 a 9.4 after dinner. Outgoing unit left camp in exceptionally filthy condition".

Now I know it wasn't a battalion from the Brigade, and I doubt it was one from the rest of 7th Division.

Can anyone identify the mucky battalion?

Bolton Camp is somewhere west of Mailly-Maillet, on the Somme.

Chris - I haven't checked but I know that there were complaints from units taking over from some of the Portuguese units due to the state they left the trenches in.

I can't remember if I read it in a book or saw something at the Military Museum in Lisboa with regards to this.

Incidently, if you are ever in Portugal go to the Military Museum, it is virtually opposite the main rail station in Lisboa and it is pretty impressive. A knowledge of the lingo is helpful as the women on duty don't speak English, I was fortunate as my (now EX!) fiancee is Portuguese. :rolleyes:

Bon Dia Chris - My ex tried to teach me the lingo and all I learned was the swear words :rolleyes: and how to ask for beer, fags and coffee!!

I was impressed with the beer vending-machines on railway platforms, but little things always impress me!

Yes I did see the memorial (along with a million other memorials and statues!), I still have a photo somewhere.

Did you go into the Military Museum? There is a great display downstairs of minature, working, artillery pieces. They were made by trainee gunsmiths and although small are capable of firing.