Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Mansion House hospital leicester

byott

Hello All. :D

I wondered if any one can help with this. Im looking for a hospital called Mansion House Groby Road Leicester Frith .

I think this may be the Hospital i have been trying to find where my G G uncle died. He had shell shock from being in the war for over 3 years and was discharged & sent back to England where he was in Hospital in Leicester but commited suicide there just after 3 months.

On the death certificate it States Home of Recovery Barrow upon soar Rothley leicester. On The death certificate it states leicester Frith.

Would be pleased of any help. Thank you Sandra

Sandra

I remember reading your previous posts about your great uncle, and feel that there's a bit of muddled information here. I have no knowledge of Leicester(shire) and am prepared to be shot down in flames, but:

The reference to a 'Mansion House Hospital' is a red herring. Mansion House, Leicester, is now office/administrative accommodation for the local NHS Trust.

There is a hospital in Leicester called 'Leicester Frith Hospital' and it is in Groby Road, but it's always been a unit for people with what used to be called 'Mental Handicap' and probably translates these days into 'severe learning disabilities.' This hospital has administrative connections with Mansion House - I think you should discount this entirely.

Previously you've said that your relative died at Barrow upon Soar, and now you've given another place of death - Leicester Frith. Where do these two places appear on the certificate? What is the registration district [at the top], and what appears in the column 'When and where died'?